Scholar athletes

Worcester County recipients of the 2020 Bayside Senior Scholar Athlete Awards are: Abigail Yesko and Drew Haueisen, Stephen Decatur High School; Haley Abbott and Thomas Snead, Pocomoke High School; and Kamryn Purvis and Benjamin Jackson, Snow Hill High School.

This award celebrates the academic accomplishments of one female athlete and one male athlete from each high school.

Students initiated

Salisbury University students, John Bunke and Emma Hancock, both of Ocean City, were recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines.

They are among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter.

Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

New members

The William E. Esham, Jr. Chapter of the Cum Laude Society at Worcester Preparatory School welcomed nine new members this April.

The Cum Laude Society is a national organization founded in 1906 which honors the world’s academic excellence in secondary schools for the purposes of promoting excellence (Arete´), justice (Dike´), and honor (Time´).

Worcester Prep is the only school on the Eastern Shore with an established Cum Laude chapter, where superior scholastic achievement is honored. Grade 12 inductees are: Damiana Elizabeth Colley, Emily Stewart Copeland, Kurt Uwe Leinemann, Devin Michael Wallace and Madison Grace Van Orden.

Grade 11 inductees are: Daniel Yang Chen, Sophia Abigail Ludt, Joseph Christopher Schwartz and Summer Clare Walker

Celebrating 50 years, Worcester Preparatory School is an independent, college prep day school for Pre-Kindergarten through Grade 12 students in Berlin.

Art honor society

Worcester Preparatory School students inducted into the National Art Honor Society are:

10th grade: Jenna Christina Beaver, Hannah Elizabeth Brasure, Hugh Thomas Cropper and Ava Marin Nally; 11th grade: Sophia Abigail Ludt, Vishnu Taran Mohan and Marika Ekaterini Vasilikos; and 12th grade: McKenzie Carol Blake, Rylie Ellen Carey, Jenna Marie Elrick, Maximilian Stefan Huber, Kathryn Frances Marini, Hana Bree Miller, Abigail Mackenzie Plylar, Eli Reyes Prushansky, Audrey Anna Stearns, Samuel Grayson Tinkler, Devin Michael Wallace, Molly Elena White and Enzo Gregory Zechiel.


Casey Rae Baron, of Berlin, is among the more than 5,400 candidates for graduation from University of Mississippi. They were celebrated during a live, virtual celebratory event on May 9.

Baron, who is a risk management and insurance major, received a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in the School of Business Administration.

UM leaders continue to evaluate plans to hold an in-person Commencement ceremony at a later date.

Julia Hill, of Ocean Pines, graduated with an Educational Technology, EdD from Boise State University on May 9.

Hill was among nearly 2,800 students eligible for degrees.

Boise State celebrated their achievements with the university’s first-ever virtual commencement ceremony on May 9.

Ross Dickerson, of Berlin, graduated from The University of Tampa on May 9, with a Bachelor of Science in Sport Management. The virtual commencement ceremony included 1,752 undergraduate and graduate candidates.


Worcester Preparatory School students were recently inducted into the Pablo Picasso Sociedad Honoraria Hispanica and Société Honoraire de Français.

Pablo Picasso Sociedad Honoraria Hispanica inductees: Katherine Riley Abbott, Grace Elise Baeurle, Lily Katherine Baeurle, Ayush Batra, Anna Magdalene Carpenter, Meredith Anne Cummings, Nicholas Kim Hearne, Carly Marie Hoffman, Ibrahim Fawad Khan, Ashley Elizabeth Laws, Brice Gary Richins, Sumira Sehgal, Audrey Anna Stearns, Abigail Vickery Taylor, Anderssen Sydney Taylor, Megan Elizabeth Waller, Michael Cort Wehberg and Anna Patricia Williams.

Société Honoraire de Français inductees: Brooke Elizabeth Emeigh, Sydney Claire Lamson-Reich and Marshall Radalin Mumford.

Good Citizens

The General Levin Winder Chapter of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution recently recognized DAR Good Citizens from four Worcester County high schools.

Recipients Meaghan Collins, Pocomoke High School; Kristen Riddleberger, Snow Hill High School; Ellie Dutton, Stephen Decatur High School; and Rylie Carey, Worcester Preparatory School, were each awarded a DAR Good Citizens certificate and lapel pin.

According to Janet Simpson, chapter chair for the DAR Good Citizens committee, the program was initiated by the National Society in 1934 to recognize male and female high school seniors who exemplify the qualities of a good citizen: dependability, service, leadership and patriotism.

It is open to all senior class students enrolled in accredited public or private secondary schools that are in good standing with their State Boards of Education. United States citizenship is not required.

For more information on the DAR, visit

Dean’s List

Nazareth College announces that Madison Clark of Bishopville, Maryland, has been named to the dean’s list for the spring 2020 semester.

A student’s grade point average must be at least 3.5 or above, and they must complete 12 credit hours of graded work that semester in order to be included on the dean’s list at Nazareth.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.