Members of the Alpha Nu Omicron chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) international honor society at Wor-Wic Community College recently received a 2021 Recognizing Excellence in Acceptance and Completion with Honors (REACH) Award for membership development and furthering PTK’s mission of providing recognition and opportunities for growth and development for students on campus.

REACH chapters achieved or exceeded a 15 percent membership acceptance rate in 2020.

Alpha Nu Omicron members also recently received the Student Government Association Outstanding Community Service Project Award, based on their work with the campus food pantry.

Dean’s List

Several Worcester County residents were recently named to the dean’s list at their respective colleges or universities during the spring semester.

They are:

Erin Trask, Berlin, College of the Holy Cross, Worcester, Massachusetts. A member of the Class of 2024, Trask is majoring in history and Spanish. To qualify, students must pass four or more letter-graded courses with no failing grades during the semester and earn a GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Abigail Yesko, Berlin, Youngstown State University in Ohio, forensic science major. Dean’s list recognition is awarded to full-time undergraduate students who have earned at least a 3.4 grade point average for not less than 12 semester hours of credit.

Kathryn Dennis, Ocean City and Erin Hurley, Berlin, St. Mary’s College of Maryland. Dean’s list honors are awarded to full-time students at St. Mary’s College of Maryland who earn a semester grade-point average of 3.5 or better on 12 or more graded credits.

Also both were awarded St. Mary’s Scholar academic honors. St. Mary’s Scholars are juniors and seniors who have earned at least 32 credit-hours at St. Mary’s College and whose cumulative grade-point average is 3.50 or better. St. Mary’s Scholars are determined once a year at the end of the spring semester.

Lydia Kappelmeier, Berlin, class of 2021, Bucknell University in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania. A student must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a scale of 4.0 to receive dean’s list recognition.

Alexander Wright, Berlin, Bethel University, McKenzie, Tennessee. To qualify, undergraduate students in the College of Professional Studies must have completed a minimum of 12 graded credit hours and earned a GPA of 3.70 or higher in the term ending May 31.

Jillian Griggs, Berlin, Adelphi University, New York. The list comprises full-time students-registered for 12 or more credits-who have completed at least nine graded credits and achieved a GPA of 3.5 or above for the semester. Audrey Stearns, Berlin, Gettysburg College in Pennsylvania. Students with a quality point average in the range of 3.300 to 3.599 for a semester’s work are placed on the dean’s list.

President’s List

Abigail Yesko, a forensic science major from Berlin, has been named to Youngstown State University’s President’s List for achieving a perfect 4.0 grade point average in the spring semester 2021.

To be eligible for the Ohio school’s president’s list, honorees must be full-time undergraduate students with a 4.0 GPA for least 12 semester hours of classes.

The University of Hartford recently announced Lily Belle Baker of Berlin has been named to its President’s Honors List and the Dean’s List for spring.


Tiffany Hastings of Ocean City, was recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. Hastings was initiated at University of Maryland, Eastern Shore.

Hastings is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter.

Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

Earns degree

The following area students earned degrees from Frostburg State University for the spring semester: Madison Doody, of Berlin, received a bachelor of science degree in liberal studies, and Hunter Morris, of Berlin, earned a bachelor of science degree in music.

To attend

Nick Gordon of Berlin, will attend Clarkson University in Potsdam, New York, as a member of the Class of 2025. Gordon, who will be majoring in business studies, will begin studying at Clarkson in the fall.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.