bayside awards spring 2022

Skylar Griffin - Bayside South Pitcher of the Year; Shelby Rosemond - First Team Midfield; Ryan McLaughlin - First Team; Joe Buxbaum - Bayside South Defensive Player of the Year

(June 17, 2022) A number of Stephen Decatur High School athletes received Bayside South Conference awards for their performance during the spring softball, baseball and lacrosse seasons.


Senior Skylar Griffin was named Bayside South Pitcher of the Year.

“Skylar started every game in the circle for us this year. She was consistent and had a great season,” said Decatur Coach Scott Kurtz. “She gave up less than 50 hits in 23 games, which is approximately two hits per game. She also surpassed 100 strikeouts for the season and came just shy of reaching 200. All great accomplishments for her senior season on the mound.”

Griffin’s career pitching record at Decatur was 30-5. She finished the 2022 season with 180 strikeouts. For her three-year career (the 2020 season was canceled because of covid) she recorded 276 strikeouts.

Griffin also finished the season with the highest batting average on the team (.465).

She also earned a spot on the Bayside South First Team with senior Alexa Eisemann and freshman Ryleigh Smith.

Second Team award recipients were freshman Ava Snelsire, and sophomores Kiara Taylor and Leah Simpson.

Honorable mention accolades went to senior Chloe Candeloro, junior Sarah Smith and freshman Madison McGinnis.

“We are proud to place our entire starting line-up on the All-Bayside Team. It speaks to the balance we had as a team, that every girl contributed to our team’s success and accomplishments this year,” Kurtz said.

Kurtz presented team awards to: Griffin (Pitching Excellence Award), Eisemann (Outstanding Leadership), Ryleigh Smith (Rookie of the Year) and McGinnis (Sportsmanship).

The Stephen Decatur softball team had a successful season, finishing in the top four in the MPSSAA 3A state tournament, falling in the semifinals.

Decatur finished the season with a 20-3 record.

The Lady Seahawks were back-to-back Bayside Conference champions (Decatur last won the conference championship in 2019. There was no season in 2020 because of covid. In 2021 the season was condensed and there was no conference championship game played.)

The team also won the program’s first regional title since 1991.


Earning First Team honors were: seniors Logan Tapman and Shawn Rosemond and juniors Ryan McLaughlin and Gus Croll.

Receiving Second Team distinction were: junior Owen Knerr, and sophomores Caden Shockley and Lukas Loring.

Juniors Stephen Wade and Adam Gardner and sophomore AJ Kolb were presented honorable mention awards.

“They’re a really great group of guys,” said Coach Rich Ferro. “They were a very successful group, and not just in baseball but in the classroom as well.”

Ferro presented team awards to: Rosemond (Offensive MVP), Knerr (Defensive MVP), Wade (Coach’s Award) and junior Brooks Kendall (Sportsmanship).

Decatur finished the season with a 17-3 record. The team captured its first Bayside Conference championship title since 2014.


Senior captains Emma Meyer and Meredith Eitel scored a spot on the Bayside South First Team Defense.

Juniors Mia Kemp and Shelby Rosemond and senior captain Darby Moore were named to the First Team Midfield.

First Team Attack accolades went to junior Audrey Mumford and senior Saige Figgs.

Second Team award winners were: defense – senior Megan Wheeler and sophomore Abby Melito; midfield – junior Alina Bernal-Clark and sophomore Sadie Kauffman.

Receiving honorable mention recognition were: senior goalie Ryleigh Cunnane and senior Hannah Short.

“The program and coaching staff are so proud of the 13 student athletes that received All-Conference honors. They’ve worked tremendously hard this season and left it all out on the field,” said Coach Lindsay Owens. “These 13 players would not have been successful and received these honors without the help of the rest of their team, so a huge shout out to them as well.”

Owens was named Coach of the Year.

“It was an honor to receive the Coach of the Year award, especially amongst a talented group of Bayside South Conference coaches,” she said. “This award is shared with the entire Stephen Decatur girls’ lacrosse coaching staff, as it’s a group effort to get our girls prepared. Their advice, hard work, and dedication to the program is invaluable.”

Owens presented team awards to: Moore (Academic All-American), Kemp (MVP), Short (Sportsmanship), Rosemond (G.R.I.T. Award), Wheeler (Coach’s Award), Meyer (Clip In Rope Award - Team Theme) and Figgs (Unsung Hero).

Decatur finished the season with a 7-7 overall record.


Senior captain Joe Buxbaum was named Bayside South Defensive Player of the Year.

“All year he’s been a rock for us on defense,” said Coach “Hoffy” Hoffman. “He’s been a tremendous leader on and off the field.”

Buxbaum also earned First Team Defense honors.

Also receiving First Team recognition were: junior Gabe Geiser (midfield), senior Shaki Bowen (long stick midfield), senior captain Jeff Eichelberger (attack), senior Austin Airey (attack) and senior captain Collin Fohner (goalie).

Second Team awards went to: senior captain Luke Bahlman (midfield), seniors Lance Adams (attack) and Henry Brous (defense).

Freshmen Luke Popielaski and Owen Sperry received honorable mention distinction.

“We had a great year. They took responsibly for their roles and we had success because of that,” Hoffman said.

Hoffman was named Bayside South Coach of the Year.

“I’m humbled and grateful for the honor,” Hoffman said. “It’s more of a reflection of the team instead of just me.”

Hoffman presented team awards to: Buxbaum (Defense), Eichelberger (Offense) and Bowen (MVP).

Decatur finished the season with a 10-5 record.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.