Berlin squad takes down Sparrows Point in semis and tops Glenelg in finals

(Feb. 21, 2020) The Stephen Decatur wrestling team captured is second consecutive regional dual meet title last Wednesday in Berlin, and three days later, the Seahawks won their second straight state championship.

Decatur Coach Todd Martinek was pleased with the Seahawks’ performance during the 2A state dual meet championship, held last Saturday at North Point High School in Waldorf.

“I was proud of the team,” he said.

The undefeated Decatur squad was seeded No. 1. The team faced fourth-seeded Sparrows Point in the semifinal round.

The Seahawks went up 38-3 so Martinek decided to forfeit the last four matches to rest his wresters for the finals.

“It was a great win. They were all close matches,” Martinek said.

Decatur had about two hours between the semifinals and final round so the boys left the gym, got something to eat and just relaxed to clear their heads and not think about wrestling, Martinek said.

Third-seeded Glenelg topped second-seeded LaPlata, 36-30, to advance to the finals against Decatur.

Martinek said he felt confident going into the finals match. He told his wrestlers to “just do your job and just wrestle your best match.”

After losing the first two matches and trailing, 9-0, Decatur went on to win, 42-24.

Martinek said senior DJ Taylor clinched the title for Decatur, earning a 4-2 victory at 195 pounds.

“Everybody did their job,” he said. “It was our closest dual meet all year. Glenelg did a good job of not getting pinned.”

Martinek said his team is strongest from the 132- to 170-pound weight classes and opponents have a difficult time against his grapplers in those spots.

“There are some good wrestlers, but our wrestlers are extremely good and they score a lot of bonus points,” he said.

Martinek said it was exciting for the team to win the 3A state dual title last year, but this year it was more of a relief to bring home the 2A championship.

In the past 50 years, Stephen Decatur sports teams have won six state championships. The wrestling team now holds three of those titles.

The first wrestling championship was earned in 2008. The second was achieved last year.

The unbeaten Decatur squad will now compete in the Bayside Conference championship meet, today and Saturday, in Cambridge.

To prepare for the competition, Martinek said on Monday that the Seahawks would be working on addressing their weaknesses and fine-tuning this week.

The Berlin squad bulldozed through its conference competition this season and Martinek is confident the Seahawks can bring home another title.

Decatur won the Bayside Conference championship for 10 consecutive seasons (2002-2011), then again in 2017 and 2019.

To challenge his wrestlers and keep them motivated, Martinek set a goal to win the tournament by 100 points this year. Another goal is for all 14 wrestlers to finish in the top six in their weight classes. Martinek hopes to have nine or 10 in the final of their divisions.

Several Seahawks are seeded No. 1 in their weight classes – senior captain Jagger Clapsadle (120 pounds), junior captain Nico D’Amico (132), sophomores Noah Reho (145) and Alex Koulikov (152) and junior James Parana (160).

The top four in each weight class will advance to next weekend’s regional tournament. Martinek said the goal is to have 12 Decatur wrestlers qualify for regionals.

Stephen Decatur 38

Sparrows Point 27

106 – Austin Miller (Decatur) 7-5 decision over Tyler Maynor (Sparrows Point)

113 – Shamar Baines (Decatur) 12-3 major decision over Dom Ambrosino (Sparrows Point)

120 – Logan Intrieri (Decatur) 11-1 major decision over Aiden Argueta (Sparrows Point)

126 – Jagger Clapsadle (Decatur) 8-3 decision over Wayne Brooks (Sparrows Point)

132 – Nico D’Amico (Decatur) SV-1 4-2 (overtime) over Richard Davis (Sparrows Point)

138 – Luke Hoenig (Sparrows Point) 3-1 decision over Kyle Elliott (Decatur)

145 – Noah Reho (Decatur) pinned Matt Laubach (Sparrows Point) 2:43

152 – Alex Koulikov (Decatur) pinned Kendrick Emani (Sparrows Point) 2:46

160 – James Parana (Decatur) pinned Jake Lure (Sparrows Point) 2:23

170 – Micah Bourne (Decatur) 10-4 decision over Jake Rallo (Sparrows Point)

182 – Mike Brower (Sparrows Point) Decatur forfeit

195 – Lexx Carr (Sparrows Point) Decatur forfeit

220 – Zach Barnickel (Sparrows Point) Decatur forfeit

285– Shawn Wolford (Sparrows Point) Decatur forfeit

Stephen Decatur 42

Glenelg 24

113 – David Ridenour (Glenelg) 14-7 decision over Shamar Baines (Decatur)

120 – Jaegon Hibbitts (Glenelg) pinned Logan Intrieri (Decatur) 2:00

126 – Jagger Clapsadle (Decatur) 14-3 major decision over Taegon Hibbitts (Glenelg)

132 – Nico D’Amico (Decatur) 13-2 major decision over Ethan Sotka (Glenelg)

138 – Kyle Elliott (Decatur) 6-2 decision over Trey Fleece (Glenelg)

145 – Noah Reho (Decatur) pinned Kevin Yang (Glenelg) 0:32

152 – Alex Koulikov (Decatur) pinned Kian Payne (Glenelg) 4:24

160 – James Parana (Decatur) 12-4 major decision over Ethan Mackey (Glenelg)

170 – Micah Bourne (Decatur) pinned Nicholas Kingsbury (Glenelg) 0:51

182 – Drew Sotka (Glenelg) pinned Adham Labwam (Decatur) 0:43

195 – Darren Taylor (Decatur) 4-2 decision over Jake Durkin (Glenelg)

220 – Lucas Suri (Glenelg) 6-4 decision over Johnny Hofman (Decatur)

285 – T. D. Ortega (Decatur) pinned Dominic Magnolia (Glenelg) 4:50

106 – Kyle Hansberger (Glenelg) pinned Austin Miller (Decatur) 1:21

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.