(Nov. 1, 2019) The Worcester Prep girls’ and boys’ cross country teams both brought home Eastern Shore Independent Athletic Conference championships, winning last Wednesday’s meet in Salisbury.

“Most kids ran their best times of the year. It was a perfect day for a race – right temperature and sunny,” said Prep Coach Keith Geiger. “Everyone felt an obligation to do their best. The seniors really wanted to end their careers on a high note and they certainly did.”

Prep sophomore Myranda Beebe came in first place for the second year in a row to capture back-to-back female Runner of the Year titles.

“She’s amazing. Her work ethic is off the charts,” Geiger said of Beebe.

She runs hard every day in practice and earned the victory with her effort, he added.

“She’s also a super-nice person and very encouraging to her teammates,” Geiger said.

Beebe completed the race in 22:27.6.

Rounding out the top five Prep runners were: senior captain Ashley Laws (fourth, 24:00), freshmen Caitlyn Hoen (seventh, 25:00.1) and Linley Hill (eighth, 25:23.5) and senior Quinn McColgan (ninth, 26:45.1).

Worcester took first place, scoring 25 points. Salisbury School was second with 34 points.

The Prep boys’ team tallied 27 points, followed by Gunston (49), Delmarva Christian (72) and Salisbury School (85).

Junior Graham McColgan, who was hampered by an injured hamstring, led the Mallards. He finished in second place overall (18:02.6), by just two seconds.

Also contributing to the victory was junior Connor Carpenter (third, 18:25), seniors Frank Carter (fifth, 19:54.1) and Gavin Hentschel (seventh, 20:10.6) and freshman Riley Moyer (10th, 20:39).

Geiger thought the season went great overall.

“I am bummed that three of the meets were canceled, specifically the Tidewater Classic, but we had fun,” he said. “Great leadership from the seniors, and a fantastic group of freshmen.”

Both teams will graduate several big contributors.

“This freshmen group took it very seriously and I think they have the chance to be really good in the next couple years,” Geiger said. “The seniors will be missed not only because they are important for our success from a points-earned standpoint, but because they are such great kids. [They are] encouraging, kind and good leaders.”

Runners who earned All-Eastern Shore Independent Athletic Conference accolades were G. McColgan, Carpenter, Carter, Beebe and Laws.

Honorable mention awards went to Hentschel and Hoen.

Geiger presented team awards to: Beebe and G. McColgan (MVP); Laws and Hentschel (Coaches Awards); and freshman Rory Pugh and sophomore Sydney Lamson-Reich (Most Improved).

This was only the fifth year for the Worcester Prep cross country program.

The boys’ team won the championship in 2016 (the first year for the award), 2017, 2018 and 2019. The Lady Mallards captured the title in 2016, 2018 and 2019.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.